The ZOFOMOMA live concert experience unfolds as an aurally and visually stunning walking tour through a virtual museum of modern art. Against an ever-changing backdrop of contemporary paintings, 15 new ZOFO-commissioned compositions are revealed throughout the 72-minute continuous performance. Composer Terry Riley praised the performance, saying, “It is just what the world needs now.”

In a nod to Mussorgsky, this 21st century “Pictures at an Exhibition” leads viewers and listeners from one gallery to the next accompanied by a re-imagined Promenade Theme by ZOFO’s Keisuke Nakagoshi. For this cutting-edge project ZOFO solicited new works from top composers around the globe, and requested each to select a painting representative of his or her culture as a springboard to the creative process. The result is a rich tapestry of sights and sounds reflecting the cultural, musical and artistic diversity of our world community.




Le Bassin d’Argenteuil, composer: Gilles Silvestrini (1961, France), artist: Claude Monet

Promenade 1

The Arrival of Implacable Gifts, composer: Carl Vine (1954, Australia), artist: James Gleeson 

Promenade 2

Dancing with the Torah at Mount Meron, composer: Avner Dorman (1975, Israel), artist: Reuven Rubin

Promenade 3

SM34, composer: Paweł Mykietyn (1971, Poland), artist: Wojciech Fangor 

Promenade 4

Spring Morning in Baku, composer: Franghiz Ali-Zadeh (1947, Azerbaijan), artist: Sattar Bahlulzade

Promenade 5

Will You Come to My Dream? (Detail from Landscapes), composer: Lei Liang (1972, China), artist: Huang Binhong

Promenade 6

Untitled Skeleton, composer: Jonathan Russell (1979, USA), artist: Stormie Mills 

Promenade 7

Street Solace, composer I Wayan Gde Yudane (1964, Indonesia), artist: I Made Budhiana

Promenade 8

Sacred Chichibu Peaks at Spring Dawn, composer: Kenji Oh (1981, Japan), artist: Yokoyama Taikan 

Promenade 9

Wendung, composer: Cécile Marti (1973, Switzerland), artist: Verena Marti-Buchmann

Promenade 10

Inspector’s Scrutiny, composer: Sahba Aminikia (1981, Iran), artist: Nicky Nodjoumi 

Promenade 11

Untitled Etching 3, composer: Gabriel Prokofiev (1975, UK), artist: Robert Fry

Promenade 12

Night Sea (for Agnes), composer: Samuel Adams (1985, USA), artist: Emily Davis Adams

Promenade 13

Paisaje, composer: Pablo Ortiz (1958, Argentina), artist: Eduardo Stupía

Promenade 14

Viajeros, composer: Keyla Orozco (1969, Cuba), artist: Douglas Pérez Castro

Introduction and Promenades: Keisuke Nakagoshi, inspired by Modest Mussorgsky

ZOFOMOMA has been made possible through generous funding and support from the Van Dyke Family Foundation.